Photos: Trip to Finland!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Back home in New York after a couple weeks visiting family and friends in Finland! I must admit, my photography skills are not stellar, even when I could actually get my stupid camera to work. But I will persevere, determined to share my trip with you the best I can…

Fresh off the plane I find religion…at the Helsinki Cathedral.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

But one church wasn’t enough! I climbed up the steep steps to reach the ornate Uspenski Cathedral, completed in 1868. I was so impressed that I donated a Euro.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We head to the waterfront…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

…where we find the Finnair Skywheel, and the marketplace. I was tempted to buy something until one of my relatives frowned and said, “Look at all this awful tourist shit.” So I nodded in agreement…and waited until I returned to the airport to buy my awful tourist shit.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

For reasons that aren’t even clear to myself, I have made it my mission to take photos of famed TV personality Larry King’s soup-stained tie whenever possible. (“Why do you have famed TV personality Larry King’s soup-stained tie?” you ask. That’s a story for another time.) But I packed it in my suitcase, and found this excellent spot…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I hop the train with my mom and head to her hometown of Lapua! We are delighted to find that one of our favorite cheap wines is available in the train ravintola (restaurant) car. But you know who is not so delighted with our antics? The guy in the seat next to us. Check it…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In Lapua, we visit Kulttuurikeskus Vanha Paukku. Established in 1923, it was once a cartridge factory. During WWII, women took over these factory jobs as the men fought the war. The description of this photo from the era is The Hardness Measure. And back off, fellow writers. I claim that title for my yet-to-be written short story.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Today, this factory space is home to an art museum…

kultruur

…a library (where Larry King’s soup-stained tie makes another appearance…)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

…and my family’s beautiful shop, Lapuan Kankurit, where you can buy gorgeous textiles that are designed, created and woven in Finland! Family run, family owned! (They also have a shop in Helsinki and shop-in-shops in Tokyo, Paris, and…well, you can read for yourself: LAPUAN KANKURIT)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Next, we get back on the train and head to Tampere, where the leaves were turning lovely colors at my cousin’s house…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And the last photo I took was of my cousin’s bathroom door. I noticed that the man had either fallen off, been torn off or simply ran away. I worry about him. Where did he go? Is the woman lonely? Or did she just get fed up and give him the boot? I guess I will never know…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

4 thoughts on “Photos: Trip to Finland!

Leave a Reply

